

NATIONAL ASSEMBLY

QUESTION FOR WRITTEN REPLY

QUESTION NUMBER: 3090 [NW3646E]

DATE OF PUBLICATION: 15 November 2013 (NA IQP: 38

DATE OF REPLY: 2 December 2013

MR F BHENGU (ANC) TO ASK MINISTER OF TOURISM:

(1) What are his department's plans for tourism with regard to protected areas;

(2) has his department identified priorities for tourism in areas like the Kruger National Park, Addo Elephant National Park and any other national parks; if not, why not; if so, what are the relevant details? NW3646E

THE MINISTER OF TOURISM REPLIES:

(1) The Protected areas are not the mandate of the National Department of Tourism (NDT) but falls under the competency of the Department of Environmental Affairs. However, the NDT's Heritage and Cultural Tourism Strategy developed in 2012 has highlighted as a key action the prioritisation and further development and promotion of the eight World Heritage sites in South Africa. In order to action this strategy, the National Department of Tourism has become a permanent member of the World Heritage Site Steering committee chaired by the Department of Environmental Affairs. The eight World Heritage sites all fall within the ambit of protected areas managed by entities such as SANParks, Ezemvelo KZN Wildlife and Eastern Cape Tourism and Parks Agency with the exception of Robben Island which is managed by the Department of Arts and Culture (DAC).

(2) The Department has developed a needs assessment for each of the eight World Heritage Sites in partnership with the relevant conservation agencies such as SANParks. The purpose of the needs assessments was to arrive at an understanding of the tourism development potential for each of these sites.